Chakra Healing Work

Anxiety, Depression

Ways to Naturally Restore Balance to your Chakras

| Written by Jane Dustman, LCSW

Photo by Cup of Couple via

Some of you may have heard of these things called Chakras and wonder what they are.  Chakras are seven focal points throughout your body, which have been used in ancient meditation practices to help our mind, physical body and organs work to the best of their ability.

While that sounds fine and well, our Chakras can get “blocked” or stuck and that can be due to various reasons.  Some say Chakras can get blocked due to prolonged stress, not taking care of one’s body, mentally and physically, lack of movement to one’s body and/or not enough sleep/proper healthy diet.

Below you will find what the seven Chakras are, what and how they work with the body, and ways to naturally unblock the Chakras

Root Chakra

The first Chakra in your body is considered the Root Chakra which is located at the base of your spine and associated with the color red.  The Root Chakra deals with your adrenals, bones, and skeletal structure.

They say if your Chakra is blocked, you may, at times, be emotionally needy, have low self-esteem, engage in self-destructive behavior, and can be fearful. The goal to have a balanced Root Chakra is to maintain physical health and fitness, keep yourself grounded and enable a sense of security.

In order to help unblock the Root Chakra, here are a couple of things that can help:

  • Walk or engage with nature in nature (even barefoot)
  • Engage in grounding exercises
  • Practice Yoga, Pilates or Dance (Rhythmic Exercises)
  • Set intentions and give yourself positive affirmations

Sacral Chakra

The second Chakra is the Sacral Chakra which is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with the color orange. The Sacral Chakra deals with your ovaries/testes and is associated with your sex organs, bladder, circulatory system, and the prostate/uterus.

If the Sacral Chakra is blocked, one may be considered oversensitive, hard on themselves, feel guilty for no reason, frigid or impotent. When one has a healthy, balanced Sacral Chakra, pleasure will ensue, one’s creative expressions will peak and one will uncover motivations that are based on their choses.

Photo by Mikhail Nilov via

In order to unblock the Sacral Chakra, here are some things you can do:

  • Stop obsessing over negative thoughts/patterns
  • Engage in Yoga and Meditation, be connected to yourself and your body
  • Journal your feelings
  • Start creative activities that engage and stimulate you
  • Use Aromatherapy

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third Chakra moving up one’s body is the Solar Plexus Chakra which is located in the stomach area and is associated with the color yellow. The Solar Plexus deals with the Pancreas, the Digestive System, and our muscles.


When the Solar Plexus is blocked, one can be overly concerned with what others think, be fearful of being alone, insecure and need constant reassurance. The Solar Plexus does deal with your emotions and confidence as well.

When the Solar Plexus is balanced, one will respect themselves and others, can be spontaneous, have personal power/strength, and have purpose and self-respect. 

  • Repeat positive affirmations or mantras about yourself
  • Engage in Meditation/meditative practices
  • Shake up your routine and try new things
  • Heal from the past and get Vitamin D

Heart Chakra

Here comes the fourth Chakra, which is the Heart Chakra, located in the center of the chest and can be seen/visualized with the color green or pink. The Heart Chakra deals with not only the heart, but our chest, lungs, circulation and our thymus.

They say when your Heart Chakra is closed off, one can fear rejection, love too much, feel unworthy to receive love, engage in self-pity, feel sad, or experience codependency.  When the heart Chakra is balanced, one will be compassionate, love unconditionally, be nurturing and be and feel balanced and have self-acceptance.

In order to unblock the Heart Chakra, here are some helpful tips you can engage in:

  • Maintain stress levels
  • Engage in healthy habits in terms of sleep, exercise and food
  • Repeat positive affirmations about love
  • Eat green foods
  • Drink rose tea and cacao

Throat Chakra

Photo by Mikhail Nilov via

The fifth Chakra moves up to the Throat. The Throat Chakra is the color blue and deals with the Thyroid and Parathyroid, the throat, ears, nose, teeth, mouth and neck.

When the Throat Chakra is blocked, one can hold back from self-expression, be unreliable, hold inconsistent views and have a hard time expressing their emotions.

When the Throat Chakra is balanced, harmony amongst others happens, open communication is exhibited, one is connected to themselves and their surroundings and some can be artistically inspired.

  • Focus in on your breath and engage in breath work
  • Find time for journaling and self-expression
  • Read, sing, or hum outloud
  • Repeat positive mantras
  • Engage in neck stretches to help open up the neck

The Third Eye

The second to last Chakra is located in the center of your forehead, which is considered to be the Third Eye Chakra. The Third Eye Chakra can be visually associated with a deep blue/indigo color and deals with the Pituitary gland, the eyes, and the base of the skull.

If the Third Eye Chakra is blocked, one may become undisciplined, fear success, set sights and goals too low, and can experience nightmares.

The Third Eye is known for intuition and when it is in balance, it allows one to see others than with their eyes, their intuition is strong, they are not attached to material things, and they can be quite charismatic. 

  • Be introspective and you can even journal about it
  • Pay attention to your dreams
  • Meditative and yoga work
  • Use essential oils
  • Try intuitive work

Crown Chakra

The seventh and final Chakra, working our way from the base of our spine reaches up to the top, or the “Crown” of our head. The Crown Chakra is based at the top of our head, with colors illuminating violet, gold or white and deals with the Pineal gland and our upper skull, cerebral cortex, and our skin.

The Crown Chakra unbalanced means one can be constantly exhausted, cannot make decisions, no sense of belonging, or can have some depressive symptoms and obsessive thinking.

When the crown comes to balance, an individual has an magnetic personality, achieves their goals and miracles in life and is at peace with themselves, leaving them with an expanded consciousness.

  • Practice guided meditation
  • Engage in visualizations
  • Connect with Nature 
  • Expand yourself with books and/or podcasts
  • Practice yoga


If you are anyone you know is struggling with connecting to oneself from within, feel that some of your chakras are blocked and need a space to process, please do not hesitate to reach out. 

Licensed professionals can help you talk through your feelings, work on blockages through talk therapy and engage in therapeutic interventions to help keep balanced and cope effectively.

Jane Dustman

Jane Dustman is a LCSW who enjoys spending her free time with family and friends, hanging on the beach, practicing yoga and dancing. Jane is dedicated to her practice of social work and enjoys being a full-time therapist at Exceptional Wellness Counseling.

EWC has locations in Manalapan and Shrewsbury, NJ, and accepts a variety of insurances.

Check out Jane’s professional bio here.

Email Us:

Call Now: (908) 415-2042